Being Carried

There is that moment when everything shifts… when the unexpected leaves you feeling overwhelmed, ill-equipped and unprepared.

There is the initial feeling of panic. The sick feeling… the fear that maybe, just maybe – for all your posturing and posing – the enemy may have just won… at least this round.

And then it happens. You feel yourself being carried. Carried, effortlessly, by the One who creates. The One who provides. The One who equips in spite of panic.

His will be done.

Being carried is so much better, you realize. So much better than anything. So energizing and exhilarating, and mind-blowingly awesome.

So you wonder, why can’t I be carried all the time? It’s better!
And then He answers: I go before you and behind you… I give you just enough grace for today. Where your strength ends, Mine begins. I carry you when you need it, because it is then that you are closest to My face.

It is then that you’re reminded of when your kids were babies.
Allowing them to walk as much as possible – sometimes allowing them to tumble, scrape, and wobble – because it was through the falling down that they learned, gained strength and found balance.
When there was danger ahead or they became weary, that when you picked them up – holding them close… feeling their breath on your face as they nuzzled you in complete trust.

It’s like that with God. My God. The lover of my soul and lifter of my head. He carries me… IS carrying me. And for that, I’m very thankful.

I carried you when you were born, and I will still be carrying you when you are old. Your hair will turn gray, and I will still carry you. I made you, and I will carry you to safety. (Isaiah 46:3-4)

The LORD your God is going before you. He will fight for you just as he fought for you in Egypt while you watched, and as you saw him do in the desert. Throughout your entire journey, until you reached this very place, the LORD your God has carried you just as a parent carries a child. (Deuteronomy 1:30-31)

2 thoughts on “Being Carried

Leave a Reply

